yes, i ran today…

yes, i have still been running. yes, i have been horrible at writing about it. yes, i have been swamped with a million other things going on. no, it’s not an excuse to leave you hanging without anything to read.

last week was a long week. i had a couple really late nights at work, which ended up putting a cramp in my running schedule for the week. ain’t no thang…that’s part of real life, and you roll with the punches. i still found ways to fit in workouts, whether a few quick situps at night, running up and down the stairs at work instead of taking the elevator, or whatever it may have been. this past week wasn’t enough to put a damper on my training as a whole though! i’m still going.

i got in a great run today…about 7 miles. the best part? when i finished, i felt like i could have done more. since i ran a route i had never gone before, i wasn’t too sure what my mileage was going to end up being…i was quite pleased when i mapped it out. if i was not in a bit of a time crunch, i probably would have kept going. but this was a great run. i had my ipod with me today…on shuffle…and had a lot of good stuff to listen to during my run, not to mention jason wade came on and sang to me more than once. oh jason wade and the wonderfulness of lifehouse…

here’s a question for you…is there anything weird that you like listening to while working out that is not normally pump-up music? i know for me, i would not consider lifehouse workout music, but i love lifehouse anytime, anywhere. i’m interested to hear what you like listening to that isn’t the average workout music.

this week is certainly going to be a trying week for my training. it is the last week before the annual youth leadership conference for which i am on the planning team. then, thursday night through sunday afternoon is go time for the conference and it’s going to be non-stop. the conference days are long enough as it is…it is going to be a challenge to fit a workout in but i certainly would like to try. we’ll see if i can make it happen.

well, carry on running friends.

less than one month til the half marathon!

2 Comments

Filed under Marathon Training

2 responses to “yes, i ran today…

  1. collin

    for some reason, i’ve been on a kick of listening to more calming music while i run. it’s kind of a reminder that the act of running doesn’t always have to be a competitive thing, but rather a sort of meditative experience (if that’s what i need it for at the time.) some of my better runs have been to Explosions in the Sky, a great guitar-only band; rodrigo y gabriela, a spanish guitar band; and sometimes death cab for cutie. keep it up sara!

  2. Angela

    You should see my workout music on my Ipod–randomness! Everything from Lady Gaga to Glee music (yes, I’m a gleek! : p) But honestly, the thing that got me through my marathon in Detroit was the Brian VanderArk. Yes, he sang the national anthem, but his voice is very soothing and kept me calm. Keep going! You’re doing great!

Leave a comment